About EISF

EISF’s aim is to improve holistic humanitarian security risk management (SRM) approaches allowing sustainable access of aid workers to populations in need. The EISF Secretariat works in collaboration with its Members to produce original research, arrange biannual forum meetings and regular workshops and facilitate information sharing between members and the wider NGO community.

EISF also acts as a resource for others interested in SRM in the humanitarian sector; therefore if you think there are opportunities for collaboration or if we might be able to assist you or your organisation, please contact us.


EISF began in 2006 as an initiative of humanitarian security managers from several European NGOs, creating an informal alliance for information-sharing. The independent EISF network was formalised with the appointment of a part-time Coordinator in early 2008, based in Save the Children UK, The Secretariat has since grown to three full time staff Members and is currently hosted by one of our Member organisations, Christian Aid. The strategic direction of EISF is overseen on behalf of the Members by a Steering Group of up to nine member representatives.


EISF is an independent network of Security Focal Points, with 81 Members (as of January 2016). It is governed by a Steering Group of up to nine representatives of Member organisations. The Secretariat has five staff: the Executive Director, the Research Advisor, the Projects and Membership Officer, the Administrator, and the Research Assistant.

Also contributing to EISF is a wider network of individuals who receive the open-source information we share, and proactively input into the discussion on security risk management and related topics in the humanitarian sector. This network includes aid workers, UN staff, civil servants, academic researchers, security consultants and many other professionals.


EISF is currently funded by the Office for US Foreign Disaster Assistance, Department for International Development, UK and member contributions.


Steering Group

EISF’s Steering Group includes up to nine Member-organisation representatives. The composition of the Steering Group aims to reflect the diverse EISF Membership, and consists of representatives from both large and small, secular and faith-based NGOs based all over Europe. The current Steering Group Members are:

  • David Napier | Goal (Chair)
  • Andrew Kirkham | Christian Aid
  • Candice Roggeveen | Tearfund
  • Fredrik Pålsson | Danish Refugee Council
  • Heather Hughes | Oxfam GB
  • Noemi Munoz | Humanity & Inclusion
  • Phil Candy | Medair
  • Virgile Debu | Médecins sans Frontières Belgium